Momofuku Corn Cookies

 While visiting New York last summer my friend Justin took us to Momofuku noodle bar and Momofuku milk bar.  I don’t remember what I ate at the noodle bar, but I remember it being delicious and despite showing up before the restaurant opened, we barely got a seat.  Justin wanted to go to the milk bar as well for their Corn Cookies.  I was a little skeptical at first, but after trying them I had at least 3.  A few months ago Kati (who was with Justin and I in NY) linked me to the Momufuku Milk Bar cook book by Christina Tosi on Amazon, which I quickly purchased.  I finally got to make these cookies last night and they were sooooo good (I had to order an ingredient online).  I’m excited to try more recipes and hopefully someday soon I can visit Momofuku again.

Momofuku Corn Cookies from Momofuku Milk Bar

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks of unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 egg, room temperature or cold
  • 1 1/3 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup corn flour (I found corn flour at Bulk Barn)
  • 2/3 cup freeze-dried corn powder (I purchased this online)
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

Directions

  1. Combine the butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and cream together on medium-high for 2 -3 minutes.  Scrap down the sides of the bowl, add the egg, and beat for 7-8 minutes.  It is very important to make sure you cream together for 7-8 minutes!!!
  2. Reduce the speed to low and add flour, corn flour, corn powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Mix until the dough comes together, about 1 minute.  
  3. Using an ice cream scoop, portion out the dough onto a cookie sheet lines with parchment paper and pat the top of the cookie dough domes flat.  Wrap the sheet tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.  Do not make your cookies at room temperature!
  4. Preheat over to 400ºF
  5. Line more baking sheets with parchment paper (I used 3 in total) and arrange chilled dough 4 inches apart (I did 2 inches, worked out great).  Bake for 18 minutes, they should be faintly browned on the edges and bright yellow in the center.  
  6. Let the cookies cool completely on the sheets before transferring them to an airtight container.

12 responses

Leave a Reply

