Homemade Jammie Dodgers

This recipe is from my newest cookbook, Homemade by Clodagh Mckenna.  Purchased here.  These cookies are delicious, however I found them difficult to make.  I’m not sure where I went wrong, the recipe is very simple and straight forward.  Confused still.    I followed the recipe and could not get the dough to form, it was all crumbly.  I fixed that easily by adding more butter, 2 extra tablespoons.  I left the dough over night, and had problems trying to roll it out.  It was all crumbly again so I ended up pounding small pieces to make one cut-out at a time.  It worked though.

Ingredients:

  • 2 + 1/4 sticks unsalted butter; softened
  • 2 + 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 2/3 cup strawberry or raspberry jam

Beat the butter until it is light and fluffy. Add the flour, confectioners’ sugar, and salt.  Combine all the ingredients until you have a nice dough.  Wrap the dough ball in plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

After chilling, preheat the oven to 350° F.  Split the dough into two separate parts. For the first half, roll out the dough and cut into rounds with a circular-shaped cookie cutter.  I think mine was 3 inches.  Place cookies on a sheet with parchment paper.  For the remainder of the dough, make the same cut outs but also use a heart shaped cutter n the centre and place on another baking sheet lined with parchment.

Bake both sets of cookies in the oven for 6-8 minutes.  Let cool.  Spread half of the cookies with jam and cover with the cutout heart cookies. Enjoy!

Recipe from Homemade by Clodagh Mckenna

14 responses

Leave a comment